Domaine du Deffends – Vins Coteaux Varois

The Domaine

The Domaine du Deffends is situated in the foothills of Monts Auréliens running along the ancient Roman road of the same name. The soil is chalky, arid and porous.

Thanks to its gentle incline and privileged south-eastern orientation, the du Deffends vineyard has never suffered the effects of frost. Production is kept deliberately low by aggressive pruning and, if necessary, early harvesting of the grapes.

The Domaine du Deffends is a small family business led by a spirited team of aficionados. We strive to take full advantage of the superior soil and climate through a rigorous commitment to quality. In doing so, we offer wine enthusiasts the assurance of a product that goes directly from our cellar to the table without manipulating or tampering with the contents in any way.

Spring wine fairs are coming

Deffends-04212015p

Villebarou (Blois) : 12 et 13 mars
Paris-Champerret : 18 au 21 mars
Gif sur Yvette : 20 mars

Picture of the month

Pleurs2

The vine cries!

Some cold these days to remind us that we are still in winter. We do not forget though that given the high temperature, spring will begin arriving at least three weeks ahead of time. As a proof, the vine cries already. Sap seeps out of the vine as biological activity restart.

See the picture >

Media are talking about us

Couv Hachette 2016 tronque

Media are talking about us. Mainly in french!

Our press review >

On line shopping

Vins Deffends achat en ligne

You can buy our wines online. We only ship within France. To buy our wines in other countries, check out our importer’s list.

 

Access to the store >

Le Domaine du Deffends

Situé sur les contreforts des Monts Auréliens, en bordure de la voie romaine du même nom, dans le Var, à Saint Maximin-La-Sainte-Baume.

Le sol est calcaire, pauvre et filtrant. Grâce à une déclivité constante et à son exposition privilégiée à l’Est-Sud-Est, le vignoble du Deffends n’a jamais subi les effets du gel. La production est délibérément maintenue à un faible niveau, notamment par une taille courte et, si besoin est, par un enlèvement précoce des fruits.

Domaine familial, conduit par une équipe de passionnés, où l’on s’efforce de mettre en valeur les privilèges du sol et du climat par une politique rigoureuse de la qualité, offrant, ainsi, à l’amateur la sécurité d’un produit qui passe directement de la cave à la table, à l’abri des manipulations et des altérations.

Depuis près de quarante ans, nous travaillons tous les jours pour valoriser le terroir et trouver ses expressions particulières dans leurs vins. autour de six cépages différents : Grenache, Syrah, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Cinsault, Rolle, Viognier adaptés à notre sol argilo-calcaire drainant, idéalement orienté sud-est, et à leur climat méditerranéen.

L’ensemble de notre vignoble est en agriculture biologique (Ecocert).

Médaille d’or au concours Bettane-Desseauve

Rosé d’une Nuit 2017

« Le nez est discret mais fin et développe de petites notes de fleurs fraîches et de fruits blancs. En bouche, c’est structuré, fruité avec une belle longueur. »

Infos & Actus

Les dernières nouvelles du Deffends